Battle of the Books 2018

Saturday, August 11th


Monday, August 13th

Stony Brook Student Activities Center

Battle of the Books 2017 Results

First Place

Hauppauge Public Library

Second Place

Patchogue-Medford Public Library

Third Place

Half Hollow Hills Community Library

Fourth Place

Cutchogue-New Suffolk Free Library


Non-scoring Awards

Creative Uniform

Morning (tie): Port Jefferson Free Library and Sayville Library

Afternoon: Hampton Bays Public Library

Evening: South Country Library

Team Choice

Morning (tie): Bay Shore-Brightwaters Public Library and Connetquot Public Library

Afternoon: Cutchogue-New Suffolk Free Library

Evening: Wyandanch Public Library

Team Spirit

Morning: Patchogue-Medford Public Library

Afternoon: Shelter Island Public Library

Evening: South Huntington Public Library


Morning: Longwood Public Library

Afternoon: Westhampton Free Library

Evening: Smithtown-Commack


Congratulations to all who participated in this year’s Battle of the Books. Special thanks to all coaches, teens, parents, judges, officials and all volunteers who helped to make this year’s Battle of the Books a success.

The 2017 Battle of the Books was held on Saturday, August 12 and Monday August 14, 2017 at the Student Activities Center in Stony Brook University.

The Suffolk County Battle of the Books program is an inter-library competition between teams of teens focused on 8 young adult novels. Teams can be no larger than 6 players (students entering grades 6-9 in the fall) but have been as small as 2 players. Held in August, the competition is divided into three back-to-back 4-hour Regional Competitions and an Awards Night. At the Regional Competition, each team gets to participate in 4 separate rounds. Each round covers 2 of the 8 books and each team is given 20 questions per round. Titles to be covered in each round are announced in advance but not specifically mentioned in the questions. At the Awards Night, the top scoring teams will compete for the County Championship.


Battle of the Books Logo created by Andrew Bollerman

Comments are closed.